Back in Sweden

So.. my life as an Erasmus is over. It felt really weird to go back to Sweden but it feels good to have my normal life back. I enjoyed my time in Greece a 100% but it's impossible to live like that for the rest of your life.. unfortunately.

I have been looking back on the last 6 months and made a short summary:

It was in the end of March and i had to choose where to study during the fall semester. I was thinking about GB or Germany but when i looked outside the window and it was snowing i realised that Greece was my chance to get some nice weather. When i told my father he thought that i had become insane "how could i choose to go to that weird and unorganized country??" anyway, I did.. and i don't regret it.


When i first come to greece i was really confused. It was not like Sweden at all and i knew that but it came as a bit of a shock anyway! I didn't get the metro and the greeks we decided to meet didn't care about be on time so we had to wait for them for hours. When i was walking along the streets it was always some greek whistling at me and they didn't know anything about service at the supermarkets. The stealing is something that i never got use to.. can't believe that people can behave so unmoral.


But... after living in Athens a while i got to learn the other Erasmus students and i didn't felt that confused anymore. I'm starting to feel that i like this city.. or actually i loved it! Whatever you want whenever you want it, you can always get it. It was a really comfortable city with a lot of impulsiv people.. no wonder, greeks don't know how to make plans.


Time is passing by and i'm just enjoying life with the other students! I have classes every day but all we had to do was to listen to the professor speaking.. it was not that hard. There is always something to do, you never get bored and you realise how perfect life can be! And you don't even have to care about waking up around 12 and eating breakfast at Starbucks at 4 ;)


The weather was as i expected, amazing! For the first time in many years i didn't have to go through my fall-depression because it's so dark and cold.  You get so happy when you're waking up and the sun is up outside your window!


The standard surprised me a bit.. it was not like in Sweden. I found the standard really low and i don't know how many times i told myself "Relax Irene, this is just 4 months of your life".


The good thing about Athens is that there's always something new to experience.. always a new place to visit. I like the fact that it has a couple of different city centers and not only one. You will never get bored of this city =)


So to sum up.. this journey had its pros and cons. It was hard to live with the stealing and the unorganized greeks. But on the other hand I met people that mean so much to me and that i will never forget. I got so many unforgettable memories that i brought back to Sweden. It was like living in a fairytale and now it's over... 

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0